Prologue

Prologue

With 6 children mum was always busy in the kitchen. From breakfast to dinner time the kitchen was a hub of excitement for what would be next on the menu.

Over the years Mum had created and mastered some classics and thrown together recipes we have all grown up to love, and now share with our own families.

This would not have been possible if it wasn’t for our loving mother putting all her recipes into one place, meticulously written in her own words, typed on fine pages, bound into an exquisite piece of workmanship from Cath my big sis and handed to each of us in a hand made ribboned box for Christmas of 1996.

Mum passed away suddenly on April 22nd 2018. We are ever grateful for her unending love and caring for her Beautiful crowd (as she would call us, her 6 children) and of course her recipe book of “Mummies best loved Yummies”, I am going to share with you all, through this blog.

In Mums words- the prologue and beginning of a legacy.

Catherine, Loretta, Therese, Michael, Anthony and Marieanne

I wrote this book especially for you all. I don’t claim to be any sort of a special or good cook, but, you always keep telling me that I am a good cook and you love my cooking. Also, some of you now keep asking me for my recipes and ‘how do I do this or that’. I thought it was about time I put it all together for you and I have tried to include everything I have ever cooked, as well as other bits and pieces that you might find helpful. Its not much, but its a part of me that I have been able to give to you over the last 26 years and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. Catherine, you have given so much of yourself to all of us, with the love, effort and absolutely wonderful job you’ve done with the covers. I thank you very very much.

I would like you all to keep this book as an heirloom and hand it down to one of your children. It doesn’t need to be the eldest or the first born male, just one you think, would appreciate it. Its a part of me that you have loved and appreciated and this is the best way I know, to give it to you for always. Thank you all of you for loving me so much and thank you for letting me be your mummy and love you.

I love you all very much and always will.

MUMMY

Christmas 1996

Reading and then re writing down my mums words was hard but her recipes are worth sharing and I hope you get to enjoy a meal with your family from following one of mums many specialties and reflect on your own mum and what she means to you.

 

 

Leave a comment